Lars Onsager Prize

In 1993, Drs. Russell and Marian Donnelly created the Lars Onsager Prize. Their goal was to have the memory and unique spirit of Lars Onsager and his passion for analytical results live on.

We thank and acknowledge the many donors who have continued the legacy of Lars Onsager and those who are willing to help ensure the Onsager Prize is endowed. Most importantly, this will encourage and support research in theoretical statistical physics, including in quantum fluids.

About the Prize

The Lars Onsager Prize is to recognize outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics, including the quantum fluids. The prize consists of $10,000 as well as a certificate citing the contribution made by the recipient. It has been presented annually since 1995. View a list of past recipients.

About Lars Onsager

Lars OnsagerOnsager invented the theory of quantized vortices in superfluid helium and received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1968 for his discovery of reciprocal relations in thermodynamics. Michael E. Fisher of the University of Maryland received the first Lars Onsager Prize at the 1995 March Meeting in San Jose, CA.

Help honor the legacy of Chemistry Nobel Laureate Lars Onsager!

Donate Now

Giving by Mail

If you prefer to contribute by mail, please make your check payable to the American Physical Society and note “Lars Onsager Prize” in the memo. Mail your gift to:

Kevin Kase
Director of Development
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740

Interested in sending a donation via Wire Transfer? Learn more about wire transfer instructions.

Help Us Reach Our Goal!